Haircut

In my last post I mentioned that after my day out I stopped by the salon to get my hair cut. I have always had a bit of a fear of getting my hair cut. I’m not sure why – maybe because I’ve just never had nice hair. I put it off for a horribly long time until my hair is terribly damaged. This time was no exception – the last time I got my hair cut was more than two years ago, so even my split ends had split ends.

For some reason, when I woke up yesterday something just clicked in my brain. I didn’t want to have ugly hair anymore. I didn’t want to live in fear of the salon. So, even though I know spur-of-the-moment spends are the enemy of the frugal spender, I resolved to get my hair cut by the end of the day. It turned out to be a great, worthwhile spend.

After coming back from my trip to the War Memorial of Korea and Noryangjin, I went to stop by my friend’s store to say hi. I mentioned my idea of getting my hair cut, and with that my friend marched me to the salon next door and (politely) ordered the woman working there to lop the bottom 4 inches of my hair off. So that’s exactly what she did.

Whenever I’ve visited a salon in Seoul before they have always pushed me into getting treatment after treatment that I didn’t even want. It was rare for me to leave without spending as much as 500,000 won, which just… Just isn’t okay. At all. But this time… I don’t know whether it was my Korean eonnie’s straightforward, down-to-business way of talking or if just not every hairdresser is a con artist, but about 20 minutes later I walked out a new woman.

For reference, this was the state of my hair before, featuring Mum and Dad and the doshirak lunch I made for them when they visited in April. You could see the dead, split ends from a mile away.

The woman who cut my hair was wonderful. She did a dry cut. After initially lopping off the dead ends of my hair I was terrified because it looked awful. However, before I could say anything, she went at it with the thinning scissors (I have so. much. hair). It was looking better, but I knew it would look better if it was straightened. Again, without me saying a word, the hairdresser pulled out her flat irons and got to work.

img_20170520_1620113201.jpg

Not bad, right? The whole thing only cost 15,000 won. It was such a pleasant experience that I believe I’m finally over my fear of hair salons and I have resolved to go back every two months to maintain my healthy locks.

After my hair was done, I immediately ran back to my friend’s shop screaming that I was finally pretty. Seriously – I feel about 100 times better about myself now. My friend was super excited to see my new look, so to celebrate she treated me to a 400 won ice cream.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

